I win!


A little while back, I entered a Pocket Letter competition. The remit was that everything used had to be recycled, as the idea was to prove that you don’t need to buy loads of fancy schmancy expensive stuff to do pocket letters and similar crafts.

The winners were announced today, and I got first place! I’m absolutely chuffed to ribbons!

I had such fun putting this pocket letter together, and everything used was recycled in some manner – I didn’t spend a single penny on any of it. I re-used greetings and post cards, packaging from various items, magazine pages, leftover string, thread and craft shapes, buttons, old raffle tickets, a word search puzzle, toothpicks, gems I prized off old cards, and some washi tape from samples I’d been sent. It just goes to show, even when you only use things you have to hand, you can come up with something pretty cool!

Front
1. Backing taken from front page of an old diary. Feathers made with washi tape (received in swaps) and toothpicks. I would have used real feathers, but I didn’t find any, so i made my own!
2. Backing card from an old greetings card and covered in tissue paper I got in a package recently. Strips of bicycle washi tape (from a swap), a hand-made “Be Green” square (on more card from the greetings card), and gems reclaimed from a greetings card.
3. Floral backing taken from inside an organizer. White card rectangle (which has braille on it) from medicine box, washi tape flower (made from string and swapped washi), with reclaimed gem, and strips of card “ribbon” cut from a greetings card.
4. A word search with a park theme, and flowers cut from a decorative page in an organiser, edged with swapped washi tape.
5. Backing card from a notebook cover, topped with a section from an old diary. Globe made from spiraled blue thread and a piece of sparkly green foam cut into shapes. A few star stickers pinched from my kids’ craft box.
6. Backing card from a box of tea, some raffle tickets and some arrows cut from card to make the recycling sign.
7. Backing card and butterfly from an old greetings card, and a couple of floral buttons I’ve collected.
8. Backing card from a notebook cover, tree leaves cut from magazines, owls cut from a postcard, stamped words on paper from a magazine.
9. Backing card from a greetings card, black rectangle cut from an old diary, buttons all cut from old garments which were dumped in my button box.

Back:
A page from a colouring book, with just hints of colour throughout.

Got something to say?