Sky Blanket – A Celestial Event


I’d heard there was going to be an alignment of five planets – Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, and Saturn – which would start on 20th January and last until approximately 20th February. As the sky here is mostly grey at the moment, I thought it would be nice to include this celestial event in my Sky Blanket, just to break the monotony a little.

I was in a bit of a quandary as to how to go about doing this, and in the end decided I’d like to add five little beads to one of the two yo-yos I’d make for today. However, the holes in the beads were too small for the yarn to go through, What was I to do?

In the end, I threaded the beads onto some crochet cotton, and crocheted that along with the yarn, as I didn’t want to have to stitch the beads into place, and risk them working loose.

This was the first time I’ve ever crocheted with beads! They’re a little looser than I would have liked – I really wanted them to be snug and secure – but I think it will look nice when crocheted into the blanket, and it will be a nice little reminder of the time the planets aligned.

Sky Blanket - Celestial Event
The planets align – Mercury (silver), Venus (pale blue), Mars (red), Jupiter (orange) and Saturn (pale pink), represented by beads on the morning yoyo. The afternoon was overcast and chilly, so a grey yoyo for that!
Got something to say?

