Sky Blanket – Preparation


sky blanket

You may have seen my information section, here on the blog, about the Sky Blanket I’m planning on making in 2016. If you’ve not seen it, please do click HERE and have a look – it will give you all the information.

Well, in order to start on 1st January, I’ve had to order my yarn in advance, so I can hit the ground running, as it were.

I’ve decided to make a yo-yo blanket (you can see a previous yoyo blanket I made HERE), with two yo-yos for each day – one for the morning, and one for the evening. That way I can incorporate such things as rainbows appearing, particularly stunning sunsets, or fireworks (for times like New Year and Bonfire Night). I may or may not also include some kind of charm or pretty beads for special occasions, such as birthdays and anniversaries, but I’ve not settled on that yet.

Anyway, with two yo-yos for each day, I will be making a whopping 728 of them (two days of the leap year won’t be included, as it will make for uneven rows), which will make up 28 rows of 26 yo-yos. It might seem like a tall order, but each yo-yo will only take a few minutes to create, making this a much quicker and easier project than it would be if I had to do an entire row or more ornate square for each day. It also means I’m more likely to be able to keep up to date!

The colours I have chosen to use are:

  • SKY BLANKETStylecraft Special DK – Aster (for clear, bright, sunshiny days)
  • Stylecraft Special DK – Cloud Blue (for blue sky peeking out between the clouds)
  • Stylecraft Special DK – Duck Egg (for misty, drizzy days)
  • Stylecraft Special DK – Gray (for heavy cloud and pouring rain)
  • Stylecraft Special DK -White (for snow, and also for joining all the yoyos together)
  • Rico Fashion Pixel (DK) – Neon Black (for fireworks)
  • Patons Fab Print DK 100g – Rio Colour (for rainbows)
  • King Cole Splash DK – Sunshine (for spectacular sunsets)

Obviously, I’ll not be starting until 1st January, but I can hardly wait to get stuck in! Fortunately, in the meantime, I have plenty of festive gift projects with which to occupy my time!

I’ll make occasional progress posts as I work on my Sky Blanket, so I hope you’ll pop back every now and then to see how it looks!

2 thoughts on “Sky Blanket – Preparation

  1. I just LOVE your yarn choices! I just learned about the Sky Blanket project. So I’m going tomorrow to pick out most of the yarn I’ll be using. I can’t wait to see what everyone creates!

Got something to say?

