Continuing the tradition…


25.05.15 - Xan with THe Chronicles of NarniaI don’t remember a time when I didn’t love reading. Seriously, I cannot remember a period of my life wen I didn’t have a book in my hands, right from my earliest childhood memories. In my early years, I quickly developed a reading level far in advance of my age, and by the time I was in my last year of first school (aged 8 years old), they were already having to bring in books from the local middle school to keep up with my appetite. Of course, this meant that when I started middle school (aged 9 years old), they had to start sending books from the high school.

One series in particular became firm favourites of mine -The Chronicles of Narnia by C S Lewis. Of course, I had watched the superb animated version of The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe, but I was delighted to discover that, not only were there more books about Narnia, there was one that came before that!

I must have been about nine years old when I first read the series, as I’m pretty certain I remember borrowing the books from the school library there, and I definitely remember a school trip to the theatre to see a production of the sixth book in the series, The Silver Chair, which, incidentally, became my favourite of the books.

Now, it is time to pass on my love of these wonderful adventures to my own children. Tadpole is six years old, and loves having stories read to him, so we have started with this series in chronological order, starting with the birth of Narnia in The Magician’s Nephew (my second favourite). We’re just four chapters in, and each chapter is ending on a small cliffhanger, that is leaving Tadpole very excited to continue the next evening before bed!

Incidentally, I did have a copy of each of the books individually, but I read them to death and lost them to loose pages or friends that borrowed and never returned them. Years later, Hubby bought me the omnibus edition Tadpole is holding in the picture as a Xmas gift, and I was over the moon.

This is the first time I’ve re-read these old favourites since before Tadpole was born, but I’m happy to rediscover them with my eldest son, and fall in love with them all over again as he experiences them for the first time, and watch his eyes sparkle as he grows to love them too.

One thought on “Continuing the tradition…

Got something to say?

