Happy World Goth Day!


Happy World Goth Day
Here I am in “Goth Lite” mode. Yes, I really am that pale. In fact, my foundation is a touch dark for my skin! Yes, I really am white as a ghost!

Every year since 2009, on 2nd May, it is World Goth Day. The official World Goth Day website describes it as “a day where the goth scene gets to celebrate its own being, and an opportunity to make its presence known to the rest of the world.”

I’ve always been a bit Gothic (although I suspect some of the more extreme Goths might call me Goth Lite), and adore black clothing, whether period or modern. I suppose with my naturally very pale skin, I was always going to at least look a little Gothic even without trying, but I do love the look and I’m also a fan of quite a bit of the music.

So, here’s to all the Goths out there. I know you’ll all be celebrating the scene and being jubilant about being who you are, because, contrary to popular belief, Goths aren’t always morose. In fact, most of the Goths I’ve known have been some of the happiest people I’ve ever met!

Happy World Goth Day!

2 thoughts on “Happy World Goth Day!

  1. Interesting! ๐Ÿ™‚ I knew a young woman who dressed up in goth attire, mostly black, dark makeup, etc.; however, she was one of the sweetest gals I have ever known! Thus, you can never judge a book by its cover! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I too, dressed up on Halloween as what I termed a goth punkster! Too bad you can’t see the fake multi-earringed or fake tatooed arm close up: http://xpressyouressence.blogspot.ca/2011/10/safe-and-happy-halloween.html ๐Ÿ˜‰ โค

    1. I love your pics! Green is about the only colour my hair HASN’T been at some point – LOL! I’ve always been a bit Gothic, right from my early teens. I kind of just fell into it, being naturally very pale and loving horror movies (especially vampire films!) as I was brought up on Hammer Horrors. I enjoyed a brief spate of almost popularity in 1992, when Bram Stoker’s Dracula was released – everyone kept asking how I got my liquid eyeliner on straight. My answer was, “Years of practice!” As I got a bit older, black clothes hid a multitude of sins, as I always felt I was too fat (now that I AM fat, I realise was actually very slim back then and had absolutely nothing to worry about!). And the music was always great – I’m still a big fan of Sisters Of Mercy! My love of all things Gothic has never left me. I can see me being a Gothic Granny years down the line – LOL!

Got something to say?

