Get thee to a polling station!


Green PartyThis one goes out to everyone in the UK…

Can I please ask everyone to do something for me?

It’s not a difficult thing, it’s just this – if you are in the UK and eligible to vote, pull on your political pants and get to a polling station!

I don’t care who you choose to vote for (unless you’re voting UKIP, in which case I will be incredibly disappointed in you, and I don’t know why you’d be here reading this, because anyone who even remotely knows me knows how incredibly anti-UKIP I am!). All that really matters to me is that you exercise your right to vote.

You see, your vote is your voice in politics. It’s the time you get to stand up and say, “Hey, this is what I believe in. This is what I want for my family and friends. This is what I want for my country.” People fought and died for your right to do so (doubly so if you are a woman – don’t even get me started on what the suffragettes went through just so you could have a say in what happens to you and your country!), and to not vote is to directly disrespect them and what they did. For you. For your children. For your grandchildren.

If you do not vote, you are actively saying you do not care what happens to anyone, not least yourself. It is lazy and selfish and disrespectful, and you have absolutely no right to complain afterwards when you don’t like the results.

If you’re still undecided, take a while today to get online and run your eyes over the manifestos of the various parties. Choose the one whose policies most closely align to what you would like to see. If that party isn’t standing in your area, choose the next closest, or look at the candidates themselves and see which one you think you would most trust to take care of your wants and needs on a local level.

Get informed.
Vote with your hearts and minds engaged.

I don’t care if it starts hailing fireballs the size of donkeys, or a volcano suddenly erupts in the middle of your street – don’t let anything be an excuse to stop you from voting today. The polling stations are open from 7am till 10pm, so not having the time is no excuse either.

Don’t let apathy strip you of your political voice.

Pull on your political pants and get to the polling station! This looks to be the most closely contested General Election in this country for decades. Make sure your vote is counted!

Got something to say?

