A-Z Challenge: Theme reveal!


atoz-theme-reveal-2015

Word
[wurd]
noun
1. a unit of language, consisting of one or more spoken sounds or their written representation, that functions as a principal carrier of meaning. Words are composed of one or more morphemes and are either the smallest units susceptible of independent use or consist of two or three such units combined under certain linking conditions, as with the loss of primary accent that distinguishes black·bird· from black· bird·. Words are usually separated by spaces in writing, and are distinguished phonologically, as by accent, in many languages…

words1This is my second year taking part in this moat eclectic of challenges, Blogging from A to Z.

For my second attempt at completing a month of alphabetical blogging, I thought I would take my inspiration from the alphabet itself.

As a lover of words, both written and spoken, I have decided to share some of my favourites with you. It constantly amazes me that from just the 26 letters in the English language, we can create so many wonderful, beautiful, phenomenal words, that, when put together, can weave magical tales or convey precise information.

I hope you’ll join me on this exploration of the English language, and perhaps you will discover a few words that are new to you, or perhaps, to quote Inigo Montoya in The Princess Bride, “You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.”

5 thoughts on “A-Z Challenge: Theme reveal!

Got something to say?

