Skype virgin


skype_logo-580x367I’ve never liked being caught on camera and I’m, well, let’s just say I’m a bit of a disaster when it comes to all things technical, so the whole Skype thing has never grabbed me.

Until now.

I have a friend who lives in America. We’ve known each other for about a decade, but we’ve never met, and we’ve never spoken in person.

Until tonight.

Tonight, she persuaded me to try Skype. Ostensibly so our kids (who write to each other) can talk in person every now and then, but of course, I had to check it worked, so tonight, I downloaded Skype and she sent me an invite, and, hey presto! we were talking face to face!

It was such a lovely surprise to see her smiling face and actually hear her voice at the same time. Another of her friends was on too, so I got introduced and we chatted for a little while.

I could get used to this!

Thank you, S, for introducing me to the joys of Skype. Let’s not wait another ten years to speak in person again!

One thought on “Skype virgin

  1. LOL Yep! You have officially entered the dark side! Mwahahaha! I think the 5 hour difference will cut down on how often we (or the kids) will talk, but any time you want to just let me know! I am usually on all day! Now you just have to convince everyone else to get on Skype, too and you will see how fun it is! A (who you met today), my sister and I Skyped for New Year’s Eve. I stayed up until they were at midnight (I am an hour ahead) and it was soo much fun! 😀

Got something to say?

