Film Review: Big Hero 6 (2014)


Big_Hero_6_film_posterFilm: Big Hero 6
Released: 2014
Director: Don Hall, Chris Williams
Stars: Ryan Potter, Scott Adsit, Jamie Chung (vocal performances)

Synopsis:
The special bond that develops between plus-sized inflatable robot Baymax, and prodigy Hiro Hamada, who team up with a group of friends to form a band of high-tech heroes.

What I thought of it:

Let’s get this straight right off the bat – I’m not a huge fan of Disney animation. As a result, I wasn’t all that bothered about seeing Big Hero 6, but as a mother of a small boy who loves movies as much as Hubby and I do, I was resigned to seeing it at some point. That point was last weekend.

In short, I loved it. The animation is crisp and edgy, the story is excellent, and the characters are a lot of fun. I found myself being drawn in by the quirkiness of the sidekicks (OMGs, how much did I love Fred and Tomago?!), the plot moved at a good pace, and it involved enough twists to keep even the most discerning of adult audiences interested. It is arguably the best thing Disney have done since The Incredibles (which was the last one they did that I loved this much). There are some very touching moments, and yes, a few where I bit my fist with sadness at the poignancy of it, but mostly it was just damned exciting to watch.

Well done, Disney – you may have converted me! This is WAY better than Frozen and could spell a return to real greatness for Disney animation and bodes well for the highly anticipated upcoming Incredibles sequel.

I confess I like Big Hero 6 all the more for not having a “breakout hit” song (is everyone else as sick to death of Let It Go as I am?), but the closing credits music, Immortals by Fall Out Boy, absolutely rocks!

Rating: Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
This one is bound to have notice taken of it at the Oscars – there’s certainly a nomination for best animated feature to be had here (as it was already nominated in that category at both the BAFTAs and the Golden Globes) and it should have no problem bringing home the statue.

BH6 characters
Big Hero 6

Got something to say?

