Blyth Battery WWII Re-enactment Day


Today was a WWII re-enactment day at one of our local attractions, the Blyth Battery. And for the first time in eleven years, I performed in front of a live audience, singing a couple of wartime songs. I was absolutely terrified, but I enjoyed it, and I was received very well – a great round of applause, and many compliments on my singing, so that certainly bolstered my confidence for next time. And there will be a next time, as Ive been asked to sing at the Battery Xmas Dance.

So, anyway, I sang my heart out – Chattanooga Choo Choo and We’ll Meet Again – and I enjoyed it, even if I did shake like a leaf the whole time and for about an hour afterwards!

My greatest compliment came from Tadpole, who said he though I should do that all the time and that he wished I had done more songs.

I wasn’t the only one dressed up (yes, I was all doled up, 40s style) – Tadpole decided to don his soldier gear and smartly salute every person he saw dressed up in a military uniform. For his efforts, he was gifted an official Airborne badge to have sewn onto his kit – his smile on receiving it from one of the officials almost split his little face in half!

It was interesting checking out the view form the observation point, and having a good look at the room decked out like a 1940s living room. Of course, there was also the battery itself with all its weaponry on display, and also a pyrotechnic display which made some very loud noises and had Tadpole full of the gleefuls again.

All in all, a good day was had – and when I asked Tadpole what his favourite part of the day was, he told me it was watching me perform, so I cannot get higher praise than that!

2 thoughts on “Blyth Battery WWII Re-enactment Day

Got something to say?

