Waste not, want not…


I’m pretty sure that everyone in the western world is aware that we should all be aiming for a minimum of five portions of fruit and vegetables every day, and if you’re anything like me, every week you buy a bogey-load of fresh fruit and veg to help hit this quota.

And you try to eat it. You really do. But there’s only so much fresh produce you can get through in a week, so inevitably, there’s a load of stuff that you have to chuck out because it’s gone mouldy and rotten. So you clear it out of your fridge and your fruit bowl at the end of the week, and you buy more. It’s a vicious circle, and it’s incredibly wasteful.

I don’t know about you, but I HATE seeing good food go to waste, but try as I might, there’s always something thrown out untouched.

Until now.

Because I’ve found the answer. Jamie Oliver told me how to stop wasting all that lovely fresh fruit (somehow it’s always the fruit that goes to waste, hardly ever the vegetables – they seem to keep far longer, and I often buy frozen so there’s no waste there). It’s so simple I don’t know why I never thought of it myself, because it’s brilliant.

The answer is… Smoothie Bags!

Smoothie bags
Left: My bag full of smoothie bags, which is in my freezer Centre: One of my smoothie bags ready to blend. Right: My delicious smoothie, ready to enjoy!

Yup, you just grab some freezable bags and portion out the fruit into them, then you bung them in the freezer ready to pull out and make delicious fruit smoothies!

This past week, I’ve made up eight little bags of two different recipes:

  1. Strawberries, raspberries, blackberries, cherries, blackcurrants, redcurrants and banana, with a spoonful of oats and another of mixed seeds.
  2. Mango, kiwi and banana with a spoonful of oats.

In both cases, each bag has half a banana, then a handful of the other ingredients. The oats make it silky smooth and give you a great source of slow-release energy to counter the instant fruit-sugar hit, and the mixed seeds are another lovely hit of energy that’s super good for you. Then all you have to do is add your base liquid (choose from fruit juice, milk, nut milk, coconut water, or plain water – I used a little coconut milk and water in mine), and if you want them a little sweeter, you can add a spoonful of honey too (I usually don’t bother, as I like mine zingy).

Not only do I now have ice-cold smoothies at the push of a button, but I’ve saved several quids’ worth of fruit that would have ended up in the bin within the next few days.

It’s a win-win situation!

And Choochie decided he liked my smoothie too – he was slurping it right out of my glass like crazy! I have a little fruit fiend on my hands here! He might be only ten months old, but when there’s fruit around, we can’t hold him back. That’s a good thing, at least!

Got something to say?

