Reasons to be Cheerful – Sunday


sunday-2Day seven (and the last day) of my positivity project – here are my three reasons to be cheerful for Sunday:

  • Family Time
    Hubby works hard. Every week he is off Sunday and one other rotating day through the week. He does, however, often work on his day off through the week, so Sunday is the one day every week when we can guarantee he’ll be home with us. Sunday is family time, and whether we’re just staying home or off somewhere for a family day out, Sunday is OUR time.
  • Pony Rides
    Another new experience for Tadpole. He’d never been anywhere near a horse (they’re so big he’s been kind of terrified of them), but there were two nice little ponies at the Maritime Festival today, giving rides to the children. To our surprise, Tadpole decided he’d like to have a ride, so we let him pet one of the ponies first, to make sure he wouldn’t freak out. He met a gorgeous little pony called Ripple and decided that, yes, he’d very much like to have a ride. So he donned a riding helmet and was lifted on. Judging by the grin on his face, he loved it. It didn’t even phase him when Ripple tried to do a little bit of trotting. I get the feeling that Tadpole will want to do it again soon!
  • Sunday Lunch at Dolly Dimple’s
    I’ve always enjoyed a nice Sunday dinner, but it’s even better when I don’t have to cook it myself – not because my cooking is bad – in fact, I’m a very good cook, and my Sunday dinners are lovely – but because it’s nice to be able to sit down to a good meal without having to spend time in the kitchen cooking it. Even if you enjoy cooking (as I do). Especially when the weather is hot. Dolly Dimple’s do a gorgeous Sunday dinner of roast pork or beef, with roast potatoes, Yorkshire pudding, various vegetables, and lashings of gravy. It’s also very reasonably priced and they’ll do a “baby meal portion” (which is actually still quite large!) for £1, so it’s great value for those with little ones too.

So, that’s my week of reasons to be cheerful. I could have included many more things, and some days it was difficult to whittle it down to just three, so I guess I have plenty to be happy about. I just have to remember that on days when I feel a little grumpy and hard-done-by!

Hope you’ve all had a fabulous week too!

Tadpole riding Ripple. I love that they BOTH smiled for this picture!
Tadpole riding Ripple. I love that they BOTH smiled for this picture!
Got something to say?

