An interesting week!


It’s only Wednesday and already it’s been a very busy week here at Kincavel Korner!

Tadpole’s school celebrated World Book Day today, so many of the children went dressed as characters from books. It was a little disappointing that many kids were just dressed as film characters (ones that were NOT from books), although I could get on board with various superheroes as they are at least from comic books.

Tadpole as Charlie Bucket
Tadpole as Charlie Bucket

Tadpole’s costume was easy – jeans and a jumper were the clothing – as he went as Charlie Bucket from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl. I made him a giant Golden Ticket, then covered mini bars of chocolate in purple paper and wrote “Wonka Bar” in silver on them. He handed them out to his classmates at the end of the day – along with tokens to get a free Graze box (well, if I’m doling out chocolate, I have to at least try to add something healthy to the mix!). There was a kid from a higher class dressed as an Oompa Loompa, so Tad was made up about that! In addition to that, we gave Tad a brand new copy of the book yesterday, so we are reading a chapter before bed each night.

Charlie's Golden Ticket, Wonka Bars, and new book!
Charlie’s Golden Ticket, Wonka Bars, and new book!
Button and Tadpole My beautiful boys!
Button and Tadpole
My beautiful boys!

Button will be 5 months old next Monday. For the last few weeks he’s been caterpillar crawling all over the place and is starting to get quite good at it! He can cover quite a distance in a very short amount of time and is so cute because he shouts very loudly while he does it, as if he’s trying to egg himself on. It’s very funny to watch!

And finally, I have finished my course and I am now a Breast Feeding Peer Supporter! This means I’ll be able to help other breastfeeding Mums when they’re having problems. As I’m now doing it second time round and last time I nursed a tongue-tied baby and received a lot of help, it will be lovely to be able to return the favour. I’ve started attending the local breastfeeding group on a Monday afternoon, and already I’m meeting some lovely Mums and seeing loads of lovely squidgy babies. I think I’m going to enjoy this!

breastfeeding-logo

One thought on “An interesting week!

Got something to say?

