Week 5 completed – 14 weeks of mini pledges


week 5Week five is about trying new things, specifically whole foods. What is meant by the term “whole foods”? Well, it’s basically anything that is whole, say, an apple or some oats, they would be whole foods. They are typically a single ingredient with no additives and is not refined in any way. This week I pledged to try two new whole foods I’d never tried before. As you can see, I managed to slip in more than just two new wholefoods this week, so I consider this part of the challenge well and truly smashed!

chia seeds
Chia seeds

The first new wholefood I tried was chia seeds. I had seen several recipes recently that included these little gems, but although I fancied trying them, I was more than a little apprehensive. This part of the challenge was the perfect excuse to put my fears aside and just plunge in. I found a simple recipe that looked tasty – banana chia seed pudding – and gave it a try. It was, quite simply, delicious! I found it absolutely delightful, so I’ve decided chia seeds will become a regular addition to my diet.

oat bran
Oat bran

I also added oat bran to my porridge, which I made with hazelnut milk, honey and cinnamon, for a tasty, filling breakfast. It didn’t really taste any different. I may well try adding oat bran to other cereals to see how that tastes. I have a whole bag of it, so I won’t let it go to waste! I plan to try making some oat bran and yoghurt muffins using the recipe that’s very handily on the back of the packet. I like the idea of adding apples to the mix for a fruity hit, so I shall let you all know how they turn out when I get the chance to bake them! Some of them will probably find their way into Tadpole’s packed lunches too…

Watercress
Watercress

It’s always a good idea to get something green into your diet, so I figured I’d try something leafy in the form of watercress. I added this to a ham and pease pudding sandwich (which I had with some homemade broth – get the recipe HERE). It has a deliciously peppery flavour to it, so I’ll definitely be eating it again. I might even try adding it to a green smoothie, as I’ve already tried spinach and kale in those and they both worked very well. Watercress might add a bit of kick to them.

Next up was organic milled flax seeds. I added a sachet of this to a curry and it thickened the sauce very nicely without noticeably changing the flavour, but adding lots of elements that are supposedly very good for me. Apparently it can be added to pretty much anything, so I might try it on some cereal or maybe in porridge at some point.

mini variety
Healthy superfoods mini variety pack

The organic milled flax seeds were from a wonderful little variety pack of “healthy superfood” food packs, which included:

  • 2 x milled flax, sunflower,pumpkin and sesame seeds, and goji berries
  • 2 x milled organic flax seed
  • 1 x shelled hemp
  • 1 x milled flaxseed, almonds, brazil nuts, walnuts, and co-enzime Q10
  • 1 x milled flaxseed, cocoa and berries

I look forward to trying out the remaining packs very soon!

I also have some coconut water, which I plan on trying in a smoothie, and those other superfood mini packs will also be getting tested in various ways, so although I didn’t get round to those this week, I will be continuing the good work and adding new whole foods to my diet.

One thought on “Week 5 completed – 14 weeks of mini pledges

Got something to say?

