52 things in 52 weeks – January update


52 things in 52 weeksSo, here is my first full monthly update on this year’s 52 things in 52 weeks challenge. You may remember I did weekly updates last year, but this year I know I’ll be much busier, so I opted for monthly updates instead – something far more achievable.

Here’s how January has fared:

COMPLETED:
Food challenges (one week each):
1. Two fruits and/or vegetables per meal – Eat a minimum of two different fruits or vegetables (preferably organic) with every breakfast, lunch, and dinner meal.
2. “Real” beverages – Beverages will be limited to coffee, tea, water, and milk (only naturally sweetened with a little honey or 100% pure maple syrup). One cup of juice will be allowed throughout the week, and wine (preferably red) will be allowed in moderation (an average of one drink per day).
3. Meat – All meat consumed this week will be locally raised (within 100-miles of your hometown). Meat consumption will also be limited to 3 – 4 servings this week, and when it is eaten meat will not be presented as the “focal point” of the meal. Instead meat will be treated as a side item or simply used to help flavor a dish.
4. No fast food or deep-fried foods – No fast food or any foods that have been deep-fried in oil.

Food challenges (30 days each):
15. 30 days of green smoothies – January (24 / 30)
I didn’t quite complete all 30 days because, as part of the crappiest run of luck during one week, my blender packed in. The new one I bought at the start of the month to replace the old one that died. It sucked anyway – it never once made a completely smooth smoothie. Either way, as I would have completed it, I consider this one completed in spirit.

Other food challenges:
21. Apply for an allotment
The application form has been sent off! My brother-in-law has expressed an interest in getting on board with this so we’ll hopefully be sharing a plot so it’s half the work and half the price for both of us, but still all the benefits of organic, home-grown produce! There’s a waiting list of 17 people, but there are 50-60 new plots being developed at my first-choice site, and I have been assured that everyone on the waiting list will be offered a plot as soon as they’re ready, so this one is definitely getting off the ground (ahem – sorry, for the bad pun!) sooner, rather than later!

IN PROGRESS:
Food challenges (one week each):
5. Try two new whole foods – Try a minimum of two new whole foods that you’ve never had before.

Financial challenges:
23. Put £20 into Tadpole’s savings every month (£20 / £240)
24. Put £20 into Button’s savings every month (£20 / £240)
25. Split all my coppers between Tadpole’s and Button’s piggy banks each week (5/52)
26. Put £1 for each day of every month into savings (£31 / £365)
27. Put £1 for each challenge completed into the Xmas fund (£6 / £52)
28. Save all £2 coins into the Xmas fund each week (5/52)
29. Save all silver up to the value of 20p into the Xmas fund each week (5/52)

Entertainment challenges:
30. Read 52 books in 52 weeks (2/52)
Check them out HERE.
31. Watch 52 films in 52 weeks (28/52)
Check them out HERE.
32. Take part in three author book blog tours (1 / 3)
The Tudor Conspiracy by Christopher Gortner – Book review / Author interview

Family-related challenges:
34. Continue breastfeeding Button to the age of 6 months (10 April)
38. Share a photo of my kids and me each month (1/ 12)

Tadpole and Button
My lovely boys having a cuddle
Kell
My fringe is in serious need of a trim,
but I’m holding off on a haircut
till my cousin’s wedding next month…

41. Take the kids to the library once a month (1 / 12)
We LOVE going to the library, so this one should be pretty easy to keep up. 🙂

Personal challenges:
42. Lose 14lbs (4.75 / 14)
46. Write twelve letters to my pen-pal (1 / 12)
I have written my January letter to my buddy, Louise. We’ve been writing a couple of years now. One of these days we might even meet!
48.  Use FlyLady.net to get into a regular routine with the housework
I’ve allocated a room to focus on each week of the month to work in rotation. There are things in each room that will be daily or weekly anyway, but once a month I’ll give each room a detailed going over. Not quite on top of things yet, but I’ll get there!
49. Make twelve Xmas gifts /decorations (1 / 12)
Obviously I’m not going into any detail at all, in case the intended recipient sees it, but I’ve started on the Xmas gifts already and completed one so far, and am working on several more…
50. Release twelve new cross stitch charts (2 / 12)
My annual band sampler was released on New Year’s Day. Download it free HERE. I also released my Hope Sampler for sale. Buy it HERE.
51. Post a monthly update (1 / 12)
Here it is!

Got something to say?

