52 things – week 31


52 things in 52 weeksIt’s been another very busy week here at Kincavel Korner. Our flat went on the market and we’ve already have a flurry of viewers and quite a bit of interest registered, so it’s all looking good. By this time next week I’m pretty certain I’ll be able to report the sale of our flat! Tadpole and I checked out a local museum – the Tollbooth – which used to be a prison. Only I forgot how steep and narrow the spiral staircases were, and also how hot it can get in small enclosed spaces. A bit of a mistake when quite heavily pregnant! We also nipped down to the international market (which comes to Aberdeen several times a year) to pick up some of the World’s Best Macaroons (they really are delish!), as this will be the last time we see the international market in Aberdeen (unless we manage to catch one while we’re visiting). I also did a few extra hours at work as we were doing something fun this week…

Books:
1. Read 52 books in 52 weeks (46/52)

Finished: Kate Forsyth – The Wild Girl (review and author interview to follow very soon!)
Reading: Alexandre Dumas – The Man in the Iron Mask (K)
Reading: David Peace – The Damned United

4. Read only books that I already have, have been given as gifts/to review, or have borrowed from the library for 52 weeks (31/52)
This part of the challenge is definitely getting easier as time goes on. It helps that I’ve had to downsize my library in readiness for moving, but I’m finding it much easier to resist the lure of new books, even though there are several I am desperate to add to my permanent collection!

Food & Drink:
38. Eat only vegetarian meals one day every week (31/52)
Vegetarian day: Tuesday

Finances:
45. Save all £2 coins for 52 weeks (31/52)
Total saved in £2 coins: £80.00

46. Save all 1p/2p/5p coins for 52 weeks (31/52)
Total 5p pieces saved: £19.05
All coppers have gone directly into Tadpole’s piggy bank.

Other:
50. Self portrait picture every week (31/52)
I work in a bookies. I know, it’s a bit odd for someone who does not gamble and has absolutely no interest in gambling or sports, but I actually really enjoy it, largely because I have fantastic colleagues, most of my customers are great, and I basically get paid to sit on my butt and natter to people all evening. The hours are exactly suited to my needs (very flexible!) and, extra bonus, I can swear at work if I want to (how many customer-facing roles can boast that stress relieving extra?). This week we were promoting one of our machine games, Deal Or No Deal Roulette, which involved something I LOVE doing – dressing up! It’s a bit difficult to find a costume that will a) fit, and b) look semi-decent when you’re the size of a small planet, but I figured I could still pull off something simple. I wore all black and stuck I number on my chest (I was black 13!), then painted my fingernails red and black with the pinky nail in green for zero. Eye makeup was green and black and my lipstick was red. Basically, I figured I was round enough these days to pass for a roulette wheel! We all had a great laugh and I think our customers appreciated seeing us out of our uniforms too!

Selfie week 31 02.08.13
02.08.13
Week 31

51. Post a weekly update of my progress on my blog (31/52)
Done!

Got something to say?

