52 things – week 30


52 things in 52 weeksThree fifths of the year have now passed and we’re busier than ever! Still getting everything sorted out at the flat ahead of our moving. And that moving date is edging ever closer – it’s scary, but exciting at he same time. We’ve still found time to do some fun stuff, but mostly our time has been taken up with all the little things you need to do before you sell your home – the list seems endless! I know we’ll get there in the end.m This week we had the guy round to do the home report (just waiting to hear how much our flat is worth!) and also the photographer to take pictures for the schedule. I have to say, the flat looks pretty fabulous right now!

And in the midst of all this, another couple of challenges have been completed (or at least, the second one has progressed to a point where I feel confident in calling it completed), and it’s one of which makes me incredibly proud!

Books:
1. Read 52 books in 52 weeks (45/52)

Reading: Alexandre Dumas – The Man in the Iron Mask (K)
Reading: David Peace – The Damned United
Reading: Kate Forsyth – The Wild Girl (for blog tour – review and interview!)

4. Read only books that I already have, have been given as gifts/to review, or have borrowed from the library for 52 weeks (30/52)
Still not bought any books. It’s getting easier as I go on, but it’s been made easier still by my decreasing the amount of books on my shelves in readiness for moving. I know I can’t afford to take up more room with new books! Looking forward to getting registered at the local library shortly after we move.

Family:
13. Teach Tadpole to read – COMPLETED!
After trying in vain for what seems like forever to encourage him, Tadpole has suddenly grasped the concept! We’ve always read a lot of stories to him and tried to encourage him to sound out and recognise words here and there, but he always gets frustrated very quickly and refuses to even try. However, I downloaded a little game to my tablet computer that encourages him to sound out the letters, then blend them together to read the word and he’s being doing very well with it! We were so impressed this week when, even without the game, we could verbally spell out words and he recognised them, as well as when he sees them written down. He can even now spell some of the words himself without seeing them written down! I feel this is such an excellent improvement that I can consider this part of the challenge well and truly completed, even though I know we still have a long way to go. Keep up the good work, Tadpole – you’re making Mummy and Daddy VERY proud indeed!

Food and Drink:
38. Eat only vegetarian meals one day every week (30/52)
Vegetarian day: Thursday

Crafts:
43. Make / contribute to three items for charity (3/3) – COMPLETED
While sorting out my craft gear ready to move, I hauled out a few more items I’ve made to donate to a charity. These cards, key rings and buttons, all designed and cross stitched by me, will go to a local cancer charity.

donated to charityFinances:
45. Save all £2 coins for 52 weeks (30/52)
Total saved in £2 coins: £78.00

46. Save all 1p/2p/5p coins for 52 weeks (30/52)
Total 5p pieces saved: £18.75
All coppers have gone directly into Tadpole’s piggy bank.

47. Put aside £10 for every challenge completed (£130/£520)
Two more challenges completed this week – #13 and #43, so an extra £20 in the pot!

Other:
50. Self portrait picture every week (30/52)
Something a little bit different this week. A first public showing of my already colossal baby bump! This is at 28 weeks, so there are still anywhere between nine and fourteen weeks to go before Button makes an appearance, although I have a feeling Button may well be earlier rather than later. Tadople was very kicky on the inside, but Button really takes the biscuit – I am constantly being kicked to the extent that it often makes me physically jump with the surprise and force of it, so I reckon we’ve got another long-leggedy beastie in there! Sometimes it feels like Button is doing a really B-I-G stretch out as I’ll feel a very definite slow push at opposite ends of my belly which feels very weird. Anyway, here I am, already the size of a small country, with the promise of ending up looking like a very large one by the time Button is ready to emerge! I’ll post bump pics every few weeks for growth comparison…

My Mam reckons my bump is actually slightly smaller that it was at this stage with Tadpole, which just makes me think I must have been the size of a planet last time round! Although, I have to say, I think my butt has got a lot bigger this time!

And Tadpole couldn’t resist photo-bombing me as we tried to record the size of my bump for posterity. We did actually take another photo right after this, but I liked this one better!

27.07.13 - Week 30
27.07.13
Week 30
28-weeks pregnant
(and Tadpole photo-bombing me!)

51. Post a weekly update of my progress on my blog (30/52)
Done!

Got something to say?

