52 things – week 26


52 things in 52 weeksHere we are, officially half way through the year! Can you believe it? I’ve not completed quite as many of the challenges as I had hoped by this point, but there are quite a few well on the way to completion and I expect to finish off quite a few over the next few months. Till then, it’s back to the busy – this is Tadpole’s last week of nursery school, and we’re heading into the summer holidays, so we’ll be planning lots of fun activities with Tad over the coming weeks…

Also, due to me making several items for Button over the last few weeks, Tadpole has requested I crochet him a new blanket, so I’ve begun work on that. He chose the colours himself – air force blue, light blue and lime green. It’s gonna be awesome!

Books:
1. Read 52 books in 52 weeks (42/52)

Reading: Marie Mongan – HypnoBirthing: The Mongan Method: A Natural Approach to Safe, Easier, More Comfortable Birthing
Reading: Alexandre Dumas – The Man in the Iron Mask (K)
Reading: Jeffrey Eugenides – The Virgin Suicides

4. Read only books that I already have, have been given as gifts/to review, or have borrowed from the library for 52 weeks (26/52)
Got out a couple of books from the library. Still no new purchases though, I think this is the longest I’ve ever gone without buying a new book for myself!

Film and Television:
7. Watch 52 films in 52 weeks (44/52)
As you can see, we’re on a bit of a Star Trek films jag at the moment…
Watched: Star Trek III: The Search For Spock (1984)
Watched: Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home (1986)
Watched: Star Trek V: The Final Frontier (1989)
Watched: Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country (1991)

Food and Drink:
38. Eat only vegetarian meals one day every week (26/52)
Vegetarian Day: Monday

Crafts:
42. Learn three new crochet stitches/styles/techniques (1/3)
I completed my first ever proper item of clothing this week – a small cardigan for Button. Before now, I’ve only ever made acessories (scarves, hats, fingerless gloves) but this was a proper item of clothing that required multiple pieces to be assembled. I’ll share photos next week, as I’m very proud of my efforts!

Finances:
45. Save all £2 coins for 52 weeks (26/52)
Total saved in £2 coins: £68.00

46. Save all 1p/2p/5p coins for 52 weeks (26/52)
Total 5p pieces saved: £18.00
All coppers have gone directly into Tadpole’s piggy bank.

Other:
50. Self portrait picture every week (26/52)
I’m dying my hair today, so this is the last pic of my streaky hair with roots several inches long! Tying it up seems to hide some of the roots, although there’s a hell of a lot of pure white at my temples these days. To be honest, I can hardly wait for it ALL to turn prper full-on white, then I can quit dying it all together. Or even if I just got those Bride of Frankenstein streaks at each side that go the full length. That would be way cool! When that happens, I’ll quit with the dye, because it’s currently stretching it with TWO bottles of dye to cover the lot – I may have to stretch to a third one within the next couple of dye jobs! Here I am in front of my rather full bookcase (each shelf has two layers of books – it’s that deep!). Yo ucan see how dull and washed out the colour has become. That’s the trouble with reds – they never last long enough!

26. Week 26 - 29.06.13
Week 26
29.06.13

51. Post a weekly update of my progress on my blog (26/52)
Done!

Got something to say?

