A frugal onion tart


onion tart
Onion tart served with mixed salad, Jersey Royal potatoes and corn on the cob

As a Mum on a budget, I’m always on the lookout for recipes that taste great but don’t break the bank, and I’m pretty good and throwing things together myself in that respect, but I still like to find new ideas from elsewhere. So I decided to try THIS recipe for a thick onion tart, which I found on A Girl Called Jack (excellent blog, you should all go and have a read!).

I wouldn’t normally have made my pastry as shown in the recipe, but because I was actually out of butter, I thought I’d give it a try. I didn’t have any mustard, so I added a pinch of course ground black pepper, some paprika and a pinch of mixed dried herbs to the mix for some extra flavour, and again, because of the lack of butter, I fried my onions in a little oil. Other than the addition of a few slices of bacon I had in the fridge and an extra egg (because I thought it didn’t look like it would all hold together), I pretty much stuck to the recipe.

It was rather tasty and I’ll certainly make it again in the future. It’s lovely hot or cold, so you can use your leftovers for lunch the next day if you fancy it. It’s definitely worth giving it a go, as it can cost as little as 35p per portion (four very decent sized portions they are too!), and you can always tweak it to take advantage of any other stuff you have in your fridge that you need to use up (like the bacon I used, or maybe some broccoli or other veg).

4 thoughts on “A frugal onion tart

  1. Really glad you liked the tart. I helped develop it on ‘cheap family recipes’ and I saw that you have a link to the site which is quite a coincidence! I posted my version of the recipe on the ‘a girl called jack’ blog and have since started a blog with meal planners etc to enable people to feed themselves for £1 a week. I know I can’t advertise on here, but if you’d like to see it I can send you the address

Got something to say?

