More from the green smoothie challenge…


green smoothie #6
A slightly disappointing smoothie
but still not bad

This morning’s green smoothie wasn’t quite as successful. That’s not to say it was terrible – it just wasn’t as great as I’d hoped, and because it had red berries added, the colour wasn’t quite as pretty as with some of the others.

  • Handful of almonds
  • Coconut milk
  • Handful of baby leaf spinach
  • Handful of raspberries
  • Small banana

I ended up adding just a touch of honey because it just didn’t taste right without it. It was also very thick, so I added a little water to thin it out a touch.

I soaked the almonds in the coconut milk overnight so they would soften up and blend nicely, which they did. The resulting smoothie was very smooth (apart from the raspberry seeds, of course), but despite the fruit, it had surprisingly little sweetness to it, and I’ll admit I do find it a little unpalatable if there’s not that touch of sweetness to it (hence the drop of honey). I don’t think I’ll bother with this recipe again, but I’m looking forward to the others that are due to whiz into my in-box over the coming weeks!

Got something to say?

