Love Your Greens 30 Day Challenge


I’m a big fan of fresh fruit and veg. I also love smoothies. So when I happened upon The Unconventional Kitchen (its a great site, really – check it out!) and read about their Love Your Greens 30 Day Challenge (which runs throughout May) which involves having “green smoothie” every day for a month, it kind of grabbed my interest.

You see, although I love smoothies, I’ve never had a “green smoothie” – for those not in the know, that’s a smoothie with the addition of greens, whether it’s spinach or kale or parsley, whatever – something green in it. It just never occurred to me to add something like that to a smoothie. Of course, there are great benefits to upping your intake of fresh produce, so I reckoned, in for a penny, in for a pound – it can’t do any harm. right?

Well today is the first day of May and the first day of the challenge, and I was a little apprehensive at making my first ever green smoothie.

Green Smoothie #1
My first green smoothie!
It looks gross, but tastes rather lovely.

Here’s what I used (because I had them to hand):

  • Plums
  • Galia melon
  • Cucumber
  • Parsley
  • Blackberry and apple juice
  • A small squeeze of honey

To be honest, I only added the honey because I worried how the cucumber and parsley would make it taste, but I could just have easily left it out (although honey is delicious and has many healthy benefits itself, so I don’t feel guilty for adding a smidgen of it!).

As you can see from the photo, it looks pretty disgusting. And it kept separating a little bit, so I had to keep stirring it before taking a drink, but it surprised me how good it actually tasted! Sweet, fruity, refreshing, and with a certain je ne sais quoi that was rather pleasant!

So I count day 1 of the challenge a success, and I shall have to think about what I shall use tomorrow. Hopefully it will look a bit more appetising that today’s did, but if it tastes even half as good, well, I’ll be happy!

And as I’ve never tried a green smoothie before, this counts as my trying something new for this month in my 52 Things in 52 Weeks Challenge too – it’s all to the good!

Got something to say?

