52 things – week 16


52 things in 52 weeksSo here we are, week 16, and I’m afraid that some of the challenges I have set myself will definitely NOT be completed this year because… wait for it… we are expecting an addition to our family later in the year! Yup, we are expecting our second child (currently going by the name Button) to arrive in October, and as a result of this there are several challenges on the list which will now be impossible. I’ll detail those below, as well as sharing a very special picture as my “self portrait” this week. Read on…

Books:
1. Read 52 books in 52 weeks (26/52)

Finished: Claire Ridgway – The Fall of Anne Boleyn: A Countdown (Kindle e-book)
Reading: George RR Martin – A Dance with Dragons Pt 1: Dreams and Dust (A Song of Ice and Fire #5a)

4. Read only books that I already have, have been given as gifts/to review, or have borrowed from the library for 52 weeks (16/52)
Still no new books bought. I’m quite proud of myself on this score because I think this is a longest I’ve EVER gone without buying any new books for myself at all!

Health and happiness:
27. Lose 14 lbs
This will now, obviously, not be happening. Or most probably not, anyway. The fact is, I’m having a baby, so I’ll be putting on weight. Yes, quite a few pounds of that weight will drop off when Button arrives, but I’ll effectively be back to square one. We shall see what happens come the end of the year…

28. Run 5km
Well, I had planned on training up and running in the Race For Life this summer, but obviously I’ll be unable to run when I’m heavily pregnant, so this challenge will have to wait for another year!

Food and drink:
38. Eat only vegetarian meals one day every week (16/52)
Vegetarian day: Thursday
This part of the challenge has become much harder because my major pregnancy craving is for roast chicken, which I have at some point almost every day!

Finances:
45. Save all £2 coins for 52 weeks (16/52)
Total £2 coins: £52.00

46. Save all 1p/2p/5p coins for 52 weeks (16/52)
Total 5p pieces: £9.35
All coppers have gone straight into Tadpole’s piggy bank.

Other:
49. Get over my fear of needles enough to donate a pint of blood
The fact is, I can’t very well donate a pint of blood when I’m busy growing a baby, and as I plan on breast feeding too, this will most likely not happen this year. However, it will definitely go on the list for next year – I will do this at some point in the very near future!

50. Self portrait picture every week (16/52)
And now for my very special “self portrait”, I’d like to introduce you all to Button! We went for our first scan this week and although there’s not really all that much to see right now, this is still technically a picture of part of me, albeit a part that is inside me. This is Button at 13 weeks and 6 days gestation, which means out littlest member of the family is currently around 8cm long from head to bottom.

19.04.13 - Scan pic of Button at 13 weeks and 6 days
Week 16
19.04.13

Doesn’t Button have the cutest little button nose? On closer inspection of this picture (the actual scan pic, not this photo of it which loses a little detail), I actually think Button bears a striking resemblance to Tadpole. Tadpole is a good looking kid, so it looks like Button might follow suit (not that looks are the most important thing – not by a long shot – and of course every mother is biased and thinks her kids are beautiful, but come on – I think mine are stunning!).

51. Post a weekly update of my progress on my blog (16/52)
Done!

52. Make a new list of 52 things in 52 weeks for 2014
I had already begun working on my list for next year, but it will now have to be heavily modified to allow for an extra person being in our family that will take a lot of looking after!

5 thoughts on “52 things – week 16

    1. We’re not finding out which gender we’re having – as with Tadpole, we’d rather have a lovely surprise. The gender scans cost about £50-£60 and the way we see it is that’s money we can spend on other stuff, especially as the baby will come out whatever gender it’s going to come out regardless of whether or not we get that scan – LOL!

      1. Wow! You have to pay for it? Here, generally, you get one free U/S usually around 15 weeks (unless you have complications, of course) and they tell you then if you want to know. With Podling we had so many scans it was impossible NOT to know! Still taking bets it’s a girl. 🙂

        1. We get free scans at around 12 and 20 weeks as part of our care, but most hospitals over here won’t tell you the gender of your baby at those scans, not even if you beg and plead. Apparently there are a number of reasons, the main two being 1) the risk of them getting it wrong and parents getting angry at buying all one colour of gear only to find they have the opposite of what they expected, and 2) there are some cultures who will abort a baby if it’s a girl. So, if you want to find out the gender, you have to go to a private clinic for a scan.

          I’ll actually be getting an extra scan at around 36 weeks as I had an emergency c-section with Tadpole and they like to check everything is ship-shape and as it should be, especially when the mother is planning on a natural birth if possible this time round (which I am – drug free water birth for me if possible!). Apparently they like to make sure there’s not too much stress on the scar tissue and whatnot, but as it will have been 5 years since Tadpole was born, I’m pretty certain everything will have toughened up significantly. 😉

          1. Yea, I get the keeping it secret because of abortions…but what is the point if you can go elsewhere? Won’t they just go elsewhere? I wish I could have had a natural birth with both mine…but my body wasn’t made that way. 😦 Good luck with it! Chances are this one will work the way it is “supposed to”!

Got something to say?

