The Oscars – was I right?


oscarBack in January, I made some predictions as to who I thought would be in for the prizes come Oscar Night. Of course, I made those predictions when I had only seen a small handful of the nominated films, so I’ve also shown here who I wanted after having seen a few more of them. Was I right? Let’s take a look and see…

Where I chose a winner (whether I thought it was the more likely candidate or it was the one I wanted it to win), I have marked the outcome in green. Where I was completely off the mark, I’ve marked the outcome in red.

BEST MOTION PICTURE
Who I thought would win:
Lincoln
Who I hoped would win: Django Unchained or Argo
And the winner was: Argo

BEST DIRECTOR
Who I thought would win:
Steven Spielberg – Lincoln
Who I hoped would win: Ang Lee – Life of Pi
And the winner was: Ang LeeLife of Pi
  (although I REALLY wished Ben Affleck had been nominated and won!)

BEST ACTOR
Who I thought would win:
Daniel Day-Lewis – Lincoln
Who I hoped would win: Daniel Day-Lewis – Lincoln
And the winner was:
Daniel Day-Lewis – Lincoln

BEST ACTRESS
Who I thought would win:
Jessica Chastain – Zero Dark Thirty
Who I hoped would win: Jennifer Lawrence – Silver Linings Playbook
And the winner was:
Jennifer Lawrence – Silver Linings Playbook

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR
Who I thought would win:
Tommy Lee Jones – Lincoln
Who I hoped would win:
Christophe Waltz – Django Unchained
And the winner was: Christophe Waltz – Django Unchained

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS
Who I thought would win:
Helen Hunt – The Sessions
Who I hoped would win:
Anne Hathaway – Les Miserables
And the winner was: Anne Hathaway – Les Miserables


BEST WRITING – ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY
Who I thought would win:
Django Unchained – Quentin Tarantino
Who I hoped would win:
Django Unchained – Quentin Tarantino
And the winner was:
  Django Unchained – Quentin Tarantino

BEST WRITING – ADAPTED SCREENPLAY
Who I thought would win:
Life of Pi – David Magee
Who I hoped would win:
Life of Pi – David Magee
And the winner was: Argo – Chris Terrio

BEST ANIMATED FEATURE
Who I thought would win:
Brave – Mark Andrews and Brenda Chapman
Who I hoped would win: Brave – Mark Andrews and Brenda Chapman
And the winner was: Brave – Mark Andrews and Brenda Chapman

BEST FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM
Who I thought would win:
Amour (Austria)
Who I hoped would win: Hadn’t a clue as I haven’t watched any of them (yet)
And the winner was: Amour (Austria)

BEST ORIGINAL SCORE
Who I thought would win:
Anna Karenina – Dario Marianelli
Who I hoped would win: Life of Pi – Mychael Danna
And the winner was: Life of Pi – Mychael Danna

BEST ORIGINAL SONG
Who I thought would win:
“Skyfall” from Skyfall – Adele Adkins and Paul Epworth
Who I hoped would win: “Skyfall” from Skyfall – Adele Adkins and Paul Epworth
And the winner was: “Skyfall” from Skyfall – Adele Adkins and Paul Epworth

BEST SOUND EDITING
Who I thought would win:
Zero Dark Thirty – Paul N. J. Ottosson
Who I hoped would win: Skyfall – Per Hallberg and Karen Baker Landers
And the winner was: Zero Dark Thirty – Paul N. J. Ottosson AND Skyfall – Per Hallberg and Karen Baker Landers

BEST SOUND MIXING
Who I thought would win:
Argo – John Reitz, Gregg Rudloff and Jose Antonio Garcia
Who I hoped would win: Argo – John Reitz, Gregg Rudloff and Jose Antonio Garcia
And the winner was: Les Miserables – Andy Nelson, Mark Paterson and Simon Hayes

BEST PRODUCTION DESIGN
Who I thought would win:
Les Misérables – Eve Stewart and Anna Lynch-Robinson
Who I hoped would win: Les Misérables – Eve Stewart and Anna Lynch-Robinson
And the winner was: Lincoln – Rick Carter and Jim Erickson

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY
Who I thought would win:
Life of Pi – Claudio Miranda
Who I hoped would win: Life of Pi – Claudio Miranda
And the winner was: Life of Pi – Claudio Miranda

BEST MAKEUP AND HAIR STYLING
Who I thought would win:
Hitchcock – Howard Berger, Peter Montagna and Martin Samuel
Who I hoped would win: Hitchcock – Howard Berger, Peter Montagna and Martin Samuel
And the winner was: Les MiserablesLisa Westcott and Julie Dartnell

BEST COSTUME DESIGN
Who I thought would win:
Anna Karenina – Jacqueline Durran OR Les Misérables – Paco Delgado
Who I hoped would win: Anna Karenina – Jacqueline Durran OR Les Misérables – Paco Delgado
And the winner was: Anna Karenina – Jacqueline Durran OR Les Misérables – Paco Delgado

BEST FILM EDITING
Who I thought would win:
Argo – William Goldenberg
Who I hoped would win: Argo – William Goldenberg
And the winner was: Argo – William Goldenberg

BEST VISUAL EFFECTS
Who I thought would win:
The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey – Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton and R. Christopher White
Who I hoped would win: Life of Pi – Bill Westenhofer, Guillaume Rocheron, Erik-Jan De Boer and Donald R. Elliott
And the winner was: Life of Pi – Bill Westenhofer, Guillaume Rocheron, Erik-Jan De Boer and Donald R. Elliott

So, there you have it, 16 correct predictions out of 20. That’s a very respectable 80% and I am happy with that. I’m extremely pleased that, more often than not, the film I hoped would win scooped the award over the one I thought was a more likely bet. I’m doubly pleased that the Big Six were all good choices. And who would have thought both my “most likely to win” and my “hoped for” winner were BOTH awarded in the Sound Editing category? It’s rare for a prize to be shared, but I got it on the nose.

And now I’m looking forward to seeing a few more of the Oscar nominated films as well as some new films from this year, some of which I’m sure will be nominated for the next Oscars…

One thought on “The Oscars – was I right?

Got something to say?

