Lent / Valentine’s Day cross over


chocolate-blocks-no_0Sometimes one cannot help but think that the universe conspires against us.

It is Valentine’s Day today – a day traditionally associated with cards, flowers and CHOCOLATES.

Unfortunately, yesterday was also the beginning of Lent – a time when people traditionally give up an indulgence for forty days. As it ends at Easter, when everyone gets loads of chocolate eggs, many people opt to give up chocolate for the duration o fLent.

Do you see the dilemma?

One cannot help wondering how many people have given up chocolate for Lent, only to be given a lovely big box of chocolates from their other half this morning.

That’s gotta suck!

For the record, I’m not remotely religious, but last year I gave up chocolate for Lent in an attempt to lead a healthier lifestyle, which in turn led to me dropping a lot of excess weight. Chocolate-free January went rather well, but I had a bit of a blow-out on 1st February, proving I just cannot be trusted with chocolate, so I have decided to give it up for Lent once more. Fortunately, I don’t get chocs on Valentine’s Day and am very happy with a card from my lovely hubby!

Happy Valentine’s Day, whether you’ve given up chocolate for Lent or not!

2 thoughts on “Lent / Valentine’s Day cross over

  1. Chocolate is not something I would ever give up. I am a true chocoholic. If it is in the house, I WILL eat it. I do, however, have enough will power to only buy it occasionally when I just can’t stand the craving anymore. During a typical month I may go 3 out of 4 weeks with nothing, but I tend to binge in the 4th week…usually do to hormones. 😉

    As far as lent goes…it really isn’t a sacrifice unless it really means something to you or takes a great deal of will-power to over come. For the religious..it should just prove your piousness (is that a word?) to be able to give up chocolate on Valentine’s day.

    On the other hand, if your sweetheart knew about your sacrifice and gave it to you anyway…well…then they deserve a kick in the shin.

    🙂

Got something to say?

