52 things – week 6


52 things in 52 weeksCan it be that six weeks have already passed this year? Where is the time going? And how is it flying so fast??? Things are progressing nicely in quite a few ongoing challenges now… I’ve been quite ill this week (I caught Tadpole’s lurgy which he had last weekend), so I haven’t done as much as I would have liked, but sometimes these things can’t be helped!

Books:
1. Read 52 books in 52 weeks (12/52) – IN PROGRESS
Finished: Angie Sage – My haunted House (Araminta Spook #1)
Finished: Angie Sage – The Sword and the Grotto (Araminta Spook #2)
Reading: Guy Bass – Stitch Head
Reading: Kim Fay – The Map of Lost Memories (Reviewing for publisher)

4. Read only books that I already have, have been given as gifts/to review, or have borrowed from the library for 52 weeks (6/52) – IN PROGRESS
Resisting the temptation to buy books for myself is incredibly difficult, especially when there are several newly-published books I’d love to add to my permanent collection. I have put them on my birthday/Xmas wish list and will have to wait till at least September for someone to gift them to me! I’m managing it though…

Film and Television:
7. Watch 52 films in 52 weeks (19/52) – IN PROGRESS
Watched this week:

  • Wreck-It Ralph (2012)
  • Day Watch (2006)

8. Watch 12 films nominated for Oscars at the 85th Academy Awards (10/12) – IN PROGRESS
Watched this week:

  • Wreck-It Ralph (2012)

10. Watch 12 foreign language films (1/12) – IN PROGRESS
Watched this week:

  • Day Watch (2006) – Russian

Travel away from home:
22. Visit my family in Northumberland twice (0/2) – IN PROGRESS
This week I booked train tickets for Tadpole and me to visit over the Easter holidays, so that will be one visit sorted after that.

Health and happiness:
27. Lose 14 lbs (11.5/14) – IN PROGRESS
I’ve been very ill this week, so I’ve not stepped on the scales at all. As a result I have no idea if I have lost, gained or stayed the same this week…

Sea bass and roasted vegetables
Sea bass and roasted vegetables

Food and drink:
37. Try one food I’ve never tasted before every month (2/12) – IN PROGRESS
Food tried: Sea bass

38. Eat only vegetarian meals one day every week (6/52) – IN PROGRESS
Vegetarian day: Friday
I ate absolutely no meat on Friday at all.

39. Drink no alcohol at all for 4 weeks straight (1/4) – IN PROGRESS
This particular challenge is quite easy for me, as I don’t ordinarily drink a lot of alcohol anyway. However, I am partial to a glass of win on the nights I’m not working, which is three nights a week. It’s become a bit of an automatic thing, to have a small glass of wine while we watch a movie (carefully measured to 125mls!), so this is making me more aware of my choices.

Finances:
45. Save all £2 coins for 52 weeks (6/52) – IN PROGRESS
Total saved: £32.00

46. Save all 1p/2p/5p coins for 52 weeks (6/52) – IN PROGRESS
Total 5p pieces saved: £6.10
All coppers have gone into Tadpole’s piggy bank

Other:
50. Self portrait picture every week (6/52) – IN PROGRESS
Something a little different again this week – I ran this photo threw a sketch app so I get a nice effect, like someone drew this picture of me.  rather like it. I might well play with other effects with future photos too… I kinda like how it gets rid of so many imperfections and emphasises my better features, such as my eyes and lips!

06. Week 6 - 30.01.13 - sketch

51. Post a weekly update of my progress on my blog (6/52) – IN PROGRESS
Well, that’s six weeks of progress updates done! Getting into the swing of doing things now…

Got something to say?

