Stitch for pleasure, stitch for charity


KK Woodland Friends quiltLast year I was approached by a group called Stitch For Pleasure, Stitch For Charity, who make quilts for chronically and terminally ill children in an attempt to bring a little extra love and light into their lives. of course, I’m always happy for any of my designs to be used for charitable purposes, and I let them know that I was about to release a series of designs that night appeal to them as they all featured cute animals and birds. They were thrilled with the idea and immediately set about gathering their supplies to stitch my little rabbits, owls, birds, chickens, foxes and squirrels.

Of course, they have members all over the world, so it takes time to coordinate international efforts, but the quilt top is now finished – it just has to have the actual quilting done, so I thought you might like to see it (click picture to enlarge). I’m chuffed to ribbons with how it’s turned out and I’m sure that it will brighten the smile on the recipient’s face when it gets there.

I am especially pleased to see an inclusion of tartan on the quilt top, for an added splash of colour, as, of course, here I am in Scotland! Although I wasn’t actually born in Scotland, I’ve lived here most of my life, so I think by now I’m probably considered an honorary Scot, and my maiden name (Stewart), and my Mum’s maiden name (Andrew) are pretty much as Scottish as you can get!

If you would like to stitch any of these designs, you will find them all over at my Kincavel Krosses blog here:

4 thoughts on “Stitch for pleasure, stitch for charity

Got something to say?

