52 things – week 4


52 things in 52 weeksWe’re almost at the end of January and four weeks into my challenge! As you can see, I’m progressing in quite a few areas now…

Books:
1. Read 52 books in 52 weeks (8/52) – IN PROGRESS
Finished: Dr Pierre Dukan – The Complete Dukan Cookbook (reviewed for publisher)
Finished: Catherine Crawford – Why French Children Don’t Talk Back (reviewed for publisher)
Reading: Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell – Barnaby Grimes: Phantom of Blood Alley

4. Read only books that I already have, have been given as gifts/to review, or have borrowed from the library for 52 weeks (4/52) – IN PROGRESS
I can confirm I have not bought any books for myself this week. In fact, I have not bought any books at all – not even for others! It’s tough sticking to this one, but I’m determined!

Film and Television:
7. Watch 52 films in 52 weeks (16/52) – IN PROGRESS
Watched this week:

8. Watch 12 films nominated for Oscars at the 85th Academy Awards (9/12) – IN PROGRESS

9. Watch 12 films that are newly released in 2013 (1/12) – IN PROGRESS

  • Death Race 3

Health and happiness:
27. Lose 14 lbs (11/14) – IN PROGRESS
Getting there! A few more pounds and I can count this part of the challenge as complete (however, I shall keep going as I have plenty more excess weight to shift!).

Food and drink:
36. Do not eat chocolate at all for 4 weeks straight (4/4) – COMPLETED
This is the fourth week of no chocolate at all, and although it means a few extra days without my favourite fix, I decided to go the whole of January without it, so although this challenge is technically completed, I will over run by a couple of days.

38. Eat only vegetarian meals one day every week (4/52) – IN PROGRESS
Vegetarian day: Friday
Friday was Burns Night (a BIG thing in Scotland), so Tadpole and I had vegetarian haggis with neeps and tatties (traditional fare for the day).

39. Drink no alcohol at all for 4 weeks straight (0/4) – IN PROGRESS
Although it means starting part way through the week, I have designated the whole of February as my alcohol-free month, as it is exactly four weeks long. I don’t drink a lot of alcohol, all things considered – just a glass of wine on the three nights a week that I’m not working (carefully measured out to 125mls), so I literally only drink three small glasses of wine each week. This shouldn’t be too difficult…

Crafts:
41. Learn to do hardanger – IN PROGRESS
I’m not much further on with this one, as I haven’t actually done any cutting on that sampler yet. I had a stitching commission to complete this week, so this got put on the back burner while I finished that.

43. Make / contribute to three items for charity (0/3) – IN PROGRESS
I can’t check one off as it’s not finished yet, but my first charity item is a brightly coloured afghan for local cancer charity, CLAN. Check out my progress HERE.

Finances:
45. Save all £2 coins for 52 weeks (4/52) – IN PROGRESS
Total saved: £20.00

46. Save all 1p/2p/5p coins for 52 weeks (4/52) – IN PROGRESS
Total saved: £1.60

47. Put aside £10 for every challenge completed (£50/£520) – IN PROGRESS
My no chocolate challenge comes to an end this week, so another tenner in the pot for that!

Other:
50. Self portrait picture every week (4/52) – IN PROGRESS
This part of the challenge is more about me getting over my fear of the camera than anything else. I absolutely hate having my photograph taken, but Hubby says he thinks my reluctance to have my image being captured may be rubbing off on Tadpole, so I’m making a concerted effort not to shy away from the camera quite so much. If I can get used to seeing myself in photographs, then maybe I won’t be so ready to bolt when people try to snap me!

Two pictures this week as I couldn’t make up my mind which to post. The one on the left is me rocking the halo braid look, complete with my own handmade hair grips (little crocheted flowers in turquoise and white).  I like to play around with different hairstyles and this is one of my favourites, although I rarely do it because it takes some time and patience to get it right! The one on the right is a rare shot of me with my hair loose. I seldom leave my hair down as it kind of gets in the way, but here it is just going everywhere!

04. Week 4 - 24.01.13

51. Post a weekly update of my progress on my blog (4/52) – IN PROGRESS
I’m incredibly pleased with my progress so far – five challenges completed in four weeks is pretty decent! Loads of ongoing challenges progressing nicely too, and I’m still enjoying it, so that’s all to the good!

One thought on “52 things – week 4

Got something to say?

