Recipe – Thai sweet potato and coconut milk soup


Just in case you’re on the other side of the planet from me, enjoying balmy weather and lazing on the beach, here in the UK it’s the middle of winter and it’s pretty cold. I can, however, bring a little of the exotic into my life during this “cold snap” as the media insist on calling it (it’s winter, people! It happens every year!) by making one of my favourite soups. This recipe has so much going for it – it warms you up on a cold day, it fills up your tummy in a very satisfying way, and it tastes like heaven on your tongue. Thus I share with you all my recipe for Thai sweet potato and coconut milk soup. Give it a try – I swear you’ll want to eat this every day, and there’s the added bonus of it freezing very well too, to be enjoyed on a later day.

Thai sweet potato soup
One of my favourite lunches
any time of the year!

Thai sweet potato and coconut milk soup
Serves 6

Ingredients:

  • 800g peeled, diced sweet potato
  • 1 medium onion
  • 3 large garlic cloves
  • 30g peeled, grated ginger root
  • 1/2 tbsp oil
  • 2 tbsp Thai red curry paste
  • 1 can coconut milk (I use reduced fat)
  • 1 l water
  • 2 stock cubes – vegetable or ham (I use ham)

Directions:

  1. Dice the onion and roughly chop the garlic, then saute them in the oil for a few minutes till the garlic starts turning golden.
  2. Add all the other ingredients to the pan and bring to the boil.
  3. Simmer till the sweet potato is tender (this should take about 20 minutes).
  4. Use a hand blender on the soup till it is smooth. Add extra water if the consistency is too thick for your tastes.
  5. Serve hot with a pinch of freshly ground black pepper.

How much easier could that be? Honestly, it takes no time at all – it’s ready in a jiffy! And the scent, wow! It’s so deliciously fragrant, and with the gorgeous sunset orange colour, it just smacks of exotic places. Transport yourself this winter with my delicious soup – you can thank me later. 😉

If you do try my recipe, please do let me know what you thought of it by leaving a comment below!

3 thoughts on “Recipe – Thai sweet potato and coconut milk soup

    1. It really is delicious and SO easy to make. It’s practically impossible to get it wrong. Your kitchen will smell heavenly and your tastebuds will explode with delight! Let me know what you thought of it once you’ve eaten some. 😉

Got something to say?

