Oscars predictions


oscarThe nominations for the 85th Academy Awards have been announced!

I don’t know about you, but I always get excited in the run up to the Oscars, and I eagerly await both the nominations and the results. Hubby and I always like to watch as many of the nominated films as we can (or at least, the ones that appeal to us!) and it usually leads to us broadening our horizons at least a little.

Last year had a fantastic array of movies nominated for Best Film, and this year, the variety of genres seems even wider. Of course, in 2012, we immediately guessed that The Artist would run away with most of the big awards, but this year I think it’s a little more difficult to call.

You can see the full list of categories and nominations HERE.

Here are my predictions:

  • Best Picture: Lincoln
  • Best Director: Steven Spielberg – Lincoln
  • Best Actor: Daniel Day-Lewis – Lincoln
  • Best Actress: Jessica Chastain – Zero Dark Thirty
  • Best Supporting Actor: Tommy Lee Jones – Lincoln
  • Best Supporting Actress: Helen Hunt – The Sessions
  • Best Writing – Original Screenplay: Django Unchained – Quentin Tarantino
  • Best Writing – Adapted Screenplay: Life of Pi – David Magee
  • Best Animated Feature: Brave – Mark Andrews and Brenda Chapman
  • Best Foreign Language Film: Amour (Austria)
  • Best Original Score: Anna Karenina – Dario Marianelli
  • Best Original Song: “Skyfall” from Skyfall – Adele Adkins and Paul Epworth
  • Best Sound Editing: Zero Dark Thirty – Paul N. J. Ottosson
  • Best Sound Mixing: Argo – John Reitz, Gregg Rudloff and Jose Antonio Garcia
  • Best Production Design: Les Misérables – Eve Stewart and Anna Lynch-Robinson
  • Best Cinematography: Life of Pi – Claudio Miranda
  • Best Makeup and Hair Styling: Hitchcock – Howard Berger, Peter Montagna and Martin Samuel
  • Best Costume Design: Anna Karenina – Jacqueline Durran OR Les Misérables – Paco Delgado
  • Best Film Editing: Argo – William Goldenberg
  • Best Visual Effects: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey – Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton and R. Christopher White

Bear in mind that I’ve seen hardly any of these films yet – I’m going purely on gut instinct – but it will be interesting to see if, once I’ve seen a few more, I change my mind, or whether the awards will be given as I have predicted here.

Note, I’ve completely neglected the documentary and short film awards, as I never watch any of those and wouldn’t have the first clue.

So, what do YOU think will win? Will there be a big sweep by a single film in multiple categories, or will the honours be well spread? I’d love to know what you think, so please do leave a comment below!

 

2 thoughts on “Oscars predictions

  1. I’m a little disappointed that Cloud Atlas (which was one of my favorites) doesn’t seem to be represented at all (unless I missed it). But I am happy about the noms for Anna Karenina, Life of Pi, and Skyfall. At this point I’m sorta thinking Argo and Lincoln are going to run away with most of the awards, although I haven’t seen either film, so that’s just a guess.
    ;o)

Got something to say?

