A bumper delivery day!


The other day I had the most delightful day of deliveries! It’s always nice to get things in the post (unless it’s bills – nobody likes getting bills!), but on this day I had a letter from a friend and three packages delivered all at once – hurrah!

The first box was my Graze box. I treat myself to one box each month as an indulgence. I’d love to get them more often, but to be honest, the goodies inside are so good, I’d want a box to arrive every day and that would get costly! Anyway, look out for my next Graze box review shortly, and if you live in the UK and would like to try a box absolutely FREE with no obligation to get more, please use my code (click on it to be taken to Graze to place your order):

XXM9K2X

Kingmaker's DaughterThe second box contained one of the books I ordered right before new year – The Kingmaker’s Daughter by Philippa Gregory. It’s the fourth novel in the excellent Cousins’ War series. This series is part of my permanent collection* and I’ve been dying to get my mitts on this latest installment. I adore historical fiction, and this period in British history is particularly fascinating to me. This is the tumultuous time before the Tudors were established on the throne; a time when the Crown was anyone’s for the taking, provided they had the military might, political power, and sheer might of will to make a grab for it. I recommend it to everyone, whether or not they usually enjoy historical fiction. Start with The White Queen, move on to The Red Queen, then follow it with The Lady of the Rivers, before picking up this one. There’s also a non-fiction book to accompany the series, The Women of the Cousins’ War, which is well worth reading.

Pocket watchgoth watchLast, but not least, in the final box, were my two watches which I purchased with some of my Xmas money – possibly the coolest watches ever made! One is a pocket watch style, hanging from a chain which I will wear around my neck. It has a pop-open face and is just gorgeous.

The other appeals to my slightly Gothic side, and is a chunky square-faced wrist watch on a black strap which comes down to cover my hand with a ring to hook over my middle finger. It is decorated with chains and skulls and is utterly adorable!

You can click on all the pictures to enlarge if you would like a closer look.

Now I’m off to write a reply to my friend, whose letter arrived at the same time. We realised recently we’ve now been writing to each other for more than a year, and long may that continue!

krampusEdit: Look! The final book I ordered before new year has arrived – Krampus: The Yule Lord by Brom. Fangirl squeeee! Brom is another member of the “Permanent Collection Club” – I adore both his artwork and his writing. Seriously, if you haven’t already cottoned on to his immense talent, grab any of his books (try Plucker or The Devil’s Rose to sample his illustrated novel style, or The Child Thief for his dark take on the Peter Pan story). Really, you won’t regret it!

* I don’t keep all the books I read. Most of them get donated to a local library that has had zero acquisitions budget for several years, so I know others will enjoy them too. Only those that are part of a series I collect remain in my own bookcase permanently; Terry Pratchett’s Discworld, Kelly Armstrong’s Women of the Otherworld, Stuart MacBride’s and Christopher Brookmyre’s crime novels, etc. I have limited space to keep my books, so I’m choosy about which ones take up precious room in my collection, and ensure only those I know I will want to read again and again (when I get the chance!) remain.

Got something to say?

