Trying something new…


AvocadoAs part of my 52 Things in 52 Weeks challenge, I have resolved to broaden my palette by trying a food I’ve never tried before each month. I thought I’d start early, so yesterday I had my first ever taste of avocado.

I know, I’m 36 years old, so it seems impossible that I could have completely ignored avocado for my entire life, but I’ve never even tasted guacamole (it just never appealed to me at all) or anything other dish that includes this fruit.

I fancied a light lunch, so I whipped up a salad and decided to cube half my avocado as part of it. I’m afraid I put it off till last because I was a little worried (which is strange, because I’m usually pretty good at trying new foods when they are presented to me – the inclusion in the challenge is more for me to purposely go out of my way to find new things to taste). Visions of cheesy 70s parties came to mind (not that I went to any parties in the 70s – I was too young!), and despite the colour being a very pleasant, soft green, it just looked plain old unappetizing.

So, I’d finished the carrot, apple and raisin salad, the beetroot, the cheese and the tuna – there was only the avocado left. It was time to bite the bullet.

I speared a cube on my fork, popped it in my mouth, and started to chew.

One word immediately sprang to mind – BLAND.

Avocado is, in my opinion, bland in a mildly unpleasant way. It doesn’t have much flavour at all, but what flavour it has isn’t particularly pleasing. I don’t think I’ll be eating the other half avocado that’s in the fridge after all. Not unless someone can very quickly recommend a tasty recipe that calls for half an avocado.

If you know of such a recipe, please let me know in the comments below. If I have no recipes within a few days, the rest of the avocado gets binned!

Still, one down, eleven to go!

ETA:
I decided to mash up the remaining half of the avocado with a little cheese spread and some black pepper, which has rendered it a little more palatable, but I still don’t see avocado becoming a favourite of mine any time soon!

8 thoughts on “Trying something new…

    1. Unfortunately, I’m a bit off salsa at the moment. I was eating it the night before I got sick with the novovirus so having it all come back up again the next morning kind of put me off. I haven’t been able to eat it since then. 😦

  1. Avocado definitely needs a bit of salt, and some like a dash of pepper as well. I prefer to mash a bit of avocado on lightly toasted wheat bread with a sprinkle of salt. If you like mayonnaise you could add a tiny bit of that as well, but I think it’s delish on its’ own.

    Also, before you give up completely I’d urge you to try FRESHLY made Guacamole. Store bought pre-packaged is completely unappetizing, but made fresh it’s quite good! Lightly mashed avocado, a bit of onion, tomato, lemon, salt, and warm tortilla chips to scoop it up!

    Good luck!!

  2. The only way I’ve ever thought to eat avacodo is in the form of guacamole. I mash the avacodo, add a few spoonfuls of salsa, a squirt or two of lemon juice and some salt and pepper. Then add it to my tacos or nachos.

Got something to say?

