A flurry of snowflakes


As I mentioned yesterday, each year, I like to make some festive decorations. Sometimes it’s stitched ornaments for the tree, sometimes it’s paper chain garlands and paper cut out snowflakes. This year, I thought I’d try adding some crochet to it all. This year I’m thinking of making a chain of crocheted snowflakes to drape… somewhere – I haven’t decided where they’ll go yet. That’s if I get the time to make enough of them. Perhaps I’ll just make a few to hang on the tree if time grows short.

Anyway, here’s the pattern I’ve developed for my flakes. Of course, you could use loads of different designs so that all your flakes are unique, but I fancied using the same simple design for them all and just changing the colours. Of course, I may just stick to white…

Simple Six-Pointed Crochet Snowflake
Terms:

  • Sc = single crochet
  • Ch = chain
  • Sl st = slip stitch
  • Sp = space
  • Rpt = repeat

Ch4. Join with sl st to form ring.

R1:
Ch6, sc in ring (ch5, sc – rpt till you have 6 “loops” in the central ring) sl st into first st of first ch6 to join.

R2:
In each ch5 sp: (2sc, ch5, 2sc, ch1) sl st to join.

R3:
*Sc in 1st sc, ch1. In ch5 sp (sc, ch3, sc, ch7, sc, ch3, sc) ch1, sc in last sc. Ch1*

Rpt * to * on each leg of snowflake and sl st to join. Finish off and weave in ends.

You can then stiffen your snowflakes by pinning them out on a board (use an old cereal packet) to block them, and painting them with a solution of watered-down PVA glue or, if you want to go down the natural route, use sugar water. Leave them to dry and then unpin them before stringing them all together.

If you try this pattern, I’d love it if you’d let me see your finished snowflakes!

Got something to say?

