Twinkle, twinkle, simple star


Each year I like to make a few extra decorations for our Christmas tree, or just to hang around the place. As I took up crochet this year, it was pretty much inevitable that I’d crochet some this year. As a result, I came up with this very easy pattern for some small, simple stars…

Small Five-Pointed Crochet Star

Terms:

  • Sc = single crochet
  • Ch = chain
  • Sl st = slip stitch
  • Rpt = repeat

Ch4. Join with sl st to form ring.

R1:
Ch4, sl st in ring. Rpt till you have 5 “loops)

R2:
In each ch4 loop: 2sc, ch5, 2sc. Ch1 to move to next loop. Sl st to join. Finish off and weave in ends.

You can stiffen these with a mixture of watered-down PVA glue, or with sugar water after blocking them. This will make them a little sturdier and show off their shape properly. I think I’ll be making a bunch of individual ones for our Christmas tree. I bet these would look great made with a metallic thread or yarn with a sparkly element through it.

If you make any, I hope you’ll let me see a photo of your stars!

3 thoughts on “Twinkle, twinkle, simple star

Got something to say?

