This is Halloween!


Tadpole is very impressed with our pumpkin lantern!

It’s Halloween, folks! That means carved pumpkins – and lots of leftover pumpkin flesh. What better way to use it up than by making a delicious pumpkin soup?

Of course, it does mean forgoing those really HUGE pumpkins you see in the supermarkets and actually choosing a smaller edible variety, but this way you get your pumpkin lantern and a tasty meal.

My first ever attempt at carving a pumpkin lantern!

This year was actually my first ever attempt at carving a pumpkin. I know! My only excuse is that I was brought up in Northumberland where we carved swedes (or rutabaga to some), which has very hard flesh and it the very devil to cut into with any kind of precision; and until now, I’ve not had a child old enough to appreciate my efforts, instead I’ve only had a husband who doesn’t think much of Halloween. I, on the other hand, LOVE Halloween – it speaks to my Witchy side, and I’ve been looking forward to having a very good reason for getting into the Halloween spirit with a pumpkin lantern.

I let Tadpole choose the design – he described it and I drew it, first on paper in pencil, then on the pumpkin (which I’d already gutted) with eyeliner. Then I started cutting. As a first attempt, I think it’s not bad at all, and Tadpole is happy with the results.

Now to the recipe! Here’s how I’ve used the insides of my pumpkin (minus the seeds and stringy bits)…

Delicious spicy pumpkin soup

Spicy Pumpkin Soup
Serves 3 – 4

Ingredients:

  • 500g pumpkin flesh
  • 75g leek
  • 75g onion
  • 100g carrot
  • 1 large garlic clove
  • 2 stock cubes
  • 1 litre water
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1/2 tsp chilli powder

Directions:

  • Finely slice the leek, dice the onion, and crush the garlic. Gently saute the in the oil till the garlic turns the colour of cappuccino
  • Add the diced pumpkin and carrot, the water, stock cubes, and spices, then simmer till the vegetables are tender
  • Use a hand blender on the soup till it is smooth
  • Serve hot with a sprinkle of toasted pumpkin seeds and crusty bread.

See how simple that is? You really can’t get any easier! Now you can sit down and enjoy your spicy pumpkin soup by the light of your pumpkin lantern!

I’ll be at work tonight, but I’ll be wearing my fangs!

Happy Halloween!

One thought on “This is Halloween!

Got something to say?

