Tastes like autumn


Tadpole pleads with me to make him his favourite pumpkin pudding

It’s that time of year when I get a hankering for comfort foods. I make huge vats of Northumbrian broth and start thinking about stodgy pies and puddings that will ensure I end up a size or so larger come springtime if I give in to them too often. One such delightful dessert is pumpkin pudding.

Yes, I know, the old American favourite is pumpkin pie, but in an attempt to keep from adding too many pounds to my figure all at once, I omit the pastry, thereby slashing the fat and calorie content, and making me a lot happier because I don’t have to faff about making the stuff and run the risk of it tasting like cardboard (I have a mixed track record with pastry!).

I’ll confess, I choose the cheats’ way out and used canned pumpkin, but you could substitute cooked pumpkin and make it all from scratch it you like. Me? Well, I’ll probably continue ordering my cans of pumpkin online and rubbing my hands in glee when the package arrives!

Pumpkin pudding – all baked and ready to serve!

Pumpkin Pudding
Serves 8
(around 177 cals per portion)

Ingredients:

  • 425g packed pumpkin (or cooked pumpkin)
  • 2 eggs
  • 170g sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt (I use low-sodium salt)
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 280 mls evaporated milk

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 180 C
  • Lightly beat the eggs, then add all the other ingredients and combine well
  • Pour into an oven-proof bowl and bake for 45 – 50 minutes, or until a knife inserted into the centre comes out clean

I sometimes make this into individual portions by pouring it into ramekins. If you do this, make sure you adjust the cooking time accordingly – really, keep an eye on it because it will cook a lot faster.

We love pumpkin pudding to much we eat it as it is, but if you’re feeling indulgent a dollop of whipped cream goes very nicely!

Oh, and don’t blame me if people wander into your kitchen sniffing at the delicious aroma as your pudding cooks – it’s heavenly and really is the scent of autumn!

Got something to say?

