Two ways with a scarflet


OK, so a short while ago I said I was crocheting a simple infinity scarf, remember? Yeah, well, that didn’t work out. I got completely bored with it and pulled it all out. Again. I’d done about two feet of it. I know, I know, I’m crazy – I was more than half way done, but I just knew I wasn’t going to love that scarf. I needed something different. I needed a scarflet!

I’d seen a few different ones on various craft blogs and thought I’d wing it and see how it turned out. I liked it so much I made two using the same pattern but with different finishes. Here’s what I came up with.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Terms:

  • ch = chain
  • sc = single crochet
  • dc = double crochet
  • st = stitch
  • rpt = repeat

Materials used:

  • Aran yarn
  • 5mm crochet hook

Basic Scarflet Pattern:

  • Chain 33
  • R1: Dc in 5th st from hook. (Ch1, miss 1 st and dc in next st) Rpt to end of row. Ch3 and turn
  • R2: Miss 1 st and dc in next st. (Ch1, miss 1 st and dc in next st) Rpt to end of row. Ch3 and turn
  • R3 – 10: Rpt R2
  • R11: Rpt R2, but at end ch2 and turn
  • R12: Miss 1 st and sc in next st. (Ch1, miss 1 st and sc in next st) Rpt to end of row. Ch2 and turn
  • R13 – 90: Rpt R11, but at end ch3 and turn
  • R91: Miss 1 st and dc in next st. (Ch1, miss 1 st and dc in next st) Rpt to end of row. Ch3 and turn
  • R92 -99: Rpt R44, but at and ch1 and turn
  • R100: (5dc into first dc, sc into next dc) Rpt to end of row. Finish off and weave in ends.
  • Return to other end of scarf. Sc in 1st dc at edge. (5dc into first dc, sc into next dc) Rpt to end of row. Finish off and weave in ends.

If you feel your scarflet needs to be longer, you can add more rows in the centre section to whatever length you desire.

Variation 1 – Scarflet with pull-through hole
Crochet basic scarflet pattern as shown to end of R12

  • R13: Miss 1 st and sc in next st. (Ch1, miss 1 st and sc in next st) Rpt twice more then ch15. Miss 15 stitches, sc in next st, miss 1st and sc in next st. (Ch1, miss 1 st an sc in next st) Rpt to end of row. Ch2 and turn
  • Continue with pattern from R14.

Variation 2 – Scarflet with pull-through strap and flower
Crochet basic scarflet pattern as shown
To create pull-through strap:

  • Ch 32 (leaving a long strand of yarn for stitching)
  • R1: Sc in 4th st from hook. (Ch1, miss 1 st and sc in next st) Rpt to end of row. Ch2 and turn
  • R2 – 6: Rpt R1 to end of row. Finish off leaving long strand of yarn for stitching.
  • Stitch one end of strap to edge of scarflet at R12 – 17.

Crochet your favourite flower or rosette and stitch it onto the strap at whatever point you like best. (I used THIS rosette.)

Got something to say?

