For all you Janeites out there


So, the last few days I’ve been rather poorly (if you check back a couple of posts you’ll read what a superhero Tadpole was on day one of my being ill). I’m starting to feel a little better now – slowly weaning myself back onto solids and recuperating with a diet of resting on the sofa, reading, watching movies (hence the film reviews over the last couple of days), and yesterday, catching up with one of my favourite vlogs – The Lizzie Bennet Diaries – on my little tablet (it’s great what you can do propped up on the sofa!)

“Lizzie Bennet? Doesn’t that name sound a little familiar?” I hear you ask.

You’d be correct – Lizzie Bennet, short for Elizabeth, of course, is one of the best-loved heroines of classic fiction, and if you look a few days back to the book review I set up to post automatically right before I got ill, you’ll not only know the author, but will probably be able to guess the novel.

For those not in the know, I’m talking about Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, but check out that review anyway, because the book, A Brief Guide to Jane Austen: The Life and Times of the World’s Favourite Author by Charles Jennings is seriously good.

Did you read it?

Go on, go and read it then come back to this post.

You read it? Good!

Now, on with what I was going to tell you, which is that The Lizzie Bennet Diaries are an incredibly clever, and very humourous modernisation of Pride and Prejudice – a fully immersive experience updated for the blogger generation with a level of style and wit of which Ms Austen herself would have been proud. I like to think her ghost is somewhere watching those little videos and chuckling to herself. Seriously, I think she’d get a real kick out of it.

You can check out The Lizzie Bennet Diaries HERE, and even if you’ve never read the novel, I just know you’ll love this glimpse into the lives of Lizzie and her sisters and will eagerly await each new entry.

Go right back to the very beginning. Enjoy!

Lizzie Bennet reads amazing books… and SO SHOULD YOU!
Got something to say?

